Heading BSB

The Ben Steiner Bursary was first launched in 2009 and was found in memory of Ben Steiner who tragically died in 2000.

Ben was a gifted and passionate individual who worked tirelessly in the Deaf community.  Ben was a Lecturer at the University of Wolverhampton and he was renowned for his love for the arts as well as his dedication to Deaf media practitioners. As an active champion, he was a role model to the Deaf Community as well to sign language interpreters.  He strived for deaf individuals to achieve their dreams.

The £5,000 Bursary is awarded biennially and aims to give deaf media practitioners over the age of 18 an opportunity to produce a film that will be premiered exclusively the following year at Deaffest, the UK’s leading Deaf-led Film and Arts Festival. This unique opportunity is a chance to take a step further and show their work to the wider media community.

The Bursary includes an in-depth filmmaking course delivered by deaf award-winning Director John Maidens, about various topics from pre-production to post-production. The applicants would then pitch their proposal to a panel of high profile judges and the selected winner will receive the Bursary to produce their film.

Past winners of the Ben Steiner Bursary are Bim Ajadi (Dead Money 2009), Stephen Collins (Luke Starr 2011), Ted Evans (Retreat 2013) and Teresa Garratty (The Quiet Ones 2015) who all made their films after sending their ideas into the scheme. Their films have been highly recognised at both UK and international film festivals.